RailFanAZ.com

Announcements, General Talk, Operations => General Discussion => Topic started by: j3rsdm5 on August 10, 2018, 03:01:52 pm

Title: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 10, 2018, 03:01:52 pm
A few days ago, stations HWY 87, West Picacho, Picacho Wye, and East Picacho suddenly stopped responding. (MCPs aren't sending data, or the antenna is unable to pick them up... or possibly something else? Is an address change unheard of?) Anyone know what happened? It's not hurting anything (other than viewing occupancy, but Coolidge and PX 977 are still functioning, so not a massive deal), yet is quite mysterious.
Thanks!
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 10, 2018, 03:13:37 pm
Been looking into it for the last few days.  It seems that Pinal lost a radio and also lost remote access to it.    :(

Let me help explain:
MCP (Track Indications that come from the Control Point)
- Picacho Wye
- West Picacho
- East Picacho
- Hwy 87
- La Palma
- Casa Grande
- Bon
- Arizona Grain

BCP: (Control Indications that come from the Base Station)
- Picacho Wye
- West Picacho
- East Picacho
- Hwy 87
- La Palma
- Casa Grande
- Bon
- Arizona Grain

These all connect to the Casa Grande Freq MCP/BCP.
It seems Pinal lost the Radio for this set or it seems.

Now we also have a site in Casa Grande (backup) that will pick up the following since there is not a clear view from Pinal.
MCP (Track Indications that come from the Control Point)
- Casa Grande
- Bon
- Arizona Grain

BCP: (Control Indications that come from the Base Station)
- Picacho Wye
- West Picacho
- East Picacho
- Hwy 87
- La Palma
- Casa Grande
- Bon
- Arizona Grain

Unfortunately, our site in Casa Grande is OFFLINE after that big storm last night.  I will be going to Casa Grande tomorrow if it does not come up when the Site Host gets home to reboot it.

Hope this helps.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 10, 2018, 03:23:27 pm
I did change the alerts for the Phoenix Sub so that is why those still work.

Also, CP PX962 Coolidge and CP PX977 are on the Pinal Frequencies which the PC ontop Pinal is picking up.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 10, 2018, 03:29:50 pm
Aha, thank you so much! That would explain it.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 10, 2018, 03:41:51 pm
You are welcome.  Union Pacific does not use the standard ATCS Channels, so the "Control Points" can change at Random without notice.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 10, 2018, 03:45:10 pm
While we're at it... have you heard of TrainMon5? I would be willing to reconstruct the entire layout specifically for its use.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 10, 2018, 03:47:07 pm
Quote from: j3rsdm5 on August 10, 2018, 03:45:10 pm
While we're at it... have you heard of TrainMon5? I would be willing to reconstruct the entire layout specifically for its use.


Yup and part of the group.  We are going to use my router for Arizona to feed Trainmon5.  We already started on the BNSF.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 10, 2018, 04:41:51 pm
Still kind of figuring out the editor. Then I'll see how I can help. :)
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 12, 2018, 01:53:52 pm
I am fine tuning my antenna at the house, might help with the reception, you can add the following to ATCS:
Hostname: atcs-up.railfanaz.com
Port: 4890
Notes: RailFanAZ.com
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 12, 2018, 01:57:23 pm
Excellent, thank you! Think I could pick up anything with a second story desktop 58" 5/8 wave magmount+ ground plane disc antenna, in South Chandler? (Little bit of a silly sentence there, but it does the trick.)
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 12, 2018, 01:58:40 pm
What area of South Chandler?
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 12, 2018, 02:43:11 pm
I don't think I can get much more specific, but I suppose I can say somewhere South of KCHD
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 12, 2018, 04:04:25 pm
No worries.  I am starting to pick up the frequencies.  I just need to fine tune a little more.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 07:42:28 am
The antenna is up and getting some data this morning.  I will keep monitoring to see if I can improve it.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 15, 2018, 08:40:48 am
I can't thank you enough! :D
Side note, I did email Jon about assisting with the Gila layout. (No response just quite yet) Is his current email the one listed on his site?
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 08:49:19 am
Quote from: j3rsdm5 on August 15, 2018, 08:40:48 am
Side note, I did email Jon about assisting with the Gila layout. (No response just quite yet) Is his current email the one listed on his site?


Let me check, I was working with him on a site location the other day, I think it different.  I know he is installing a new site new Gila Bend.  I am going out to install an updated site in Tucson soon.  We usually talk on weekends on what our next plan of attack is.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 09:46:04 am
You should get an email about now from Jon.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 02:37:48 pm
Lost signal again, not sure but I think the wind moves my antenna which then I lost the signal and getting FEC errors.   >:(
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 15, 2018, 02:40:21 pm
Which stations would you say your antenna covers usually?
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 03:43:05 pm
I am able to get Picacho Wye, East Picacho, La Palma, Toltec, and Casa Grande on the MCPs.

I am able to get all the following for Casa Grande Freq on the BCP side.
Picacho Wye
West Picacho
East Picacho
Hwy 87
La Palma
Casa Grande
Bon
Arizona Grain
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 15, 2018, 03:45:30 pm
Whoa, that's one beefy antenna. Wish I could get at least one BCP. ;D
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 08:40:25 pm
Found the sweet spot for my antenna.   8)
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 09:03:36 pm
Dang it.  I was getting Picacho Wye, Casa Grande, La Palma.  I went to go tighten the wire to the antenna pole and lost it again.  It's a struggle for me cause I am so far away and I have to aim the antenna just right to go past the mountains.    >:(
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 15, 2018, 09:05:02 pm
No kidding, that's got to be incredibly frustrating. :/ Don't worry about it too much!
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 15, 2018, 09:08:37 pm
There we go!   8)
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on August 23, 2018, 12:48:21 pm
This morning I opened up the layout, and CP PX977 and Coolidge are both not showing up. The funny thing is, when I only enable the URL you gave me (atcs-up.railfanaz.com:4890) just to see what stations it's receiving, I get MCP and BCP for Yuma, Pacific, Blaisdell, Kinter W, West Wellton, Colfred, Colfred W, Bon, Arizona Grain, and Casa Grande. (That's some serious reach! What's your antenna setup?)  No indication messages, just outbound ACK for Fortuna, East Yard, Kinter E, Dome, Noah E, Hwy 87, Picacho Wye, West Picacho, East Picacho, and La Palma. (Insane reach!) Am I missing a setting for indication messages? Acknowledgements are being sent but no data about lining or occupancy. Very interesting. Is it coming through on your end? Maybe I could actually help with coverage using an antenna setup similar to yours.

Also I have to apologize, there's going to be some delay getting the layout completed as the lag between clicking and placement reaches now over 4 seconds. (Now working at Wymola) I'm continuing to place several tracks/signals at a time, it's just difficult to know if I made a mistake. Should be fine though
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on August 23, 2018, 01:27:22 pm
I have two sites on the Gila Sub:  Yuma and Casa Grande.  They report to the main server and then my server.  That is why you are picking them up from the railfanaz.com address.  The PC at Pinal lost connection so there are more Control Points being missed.

Yuma picks up:
MCP and BCP for Yuma, Pacific, Blaisdell, Kinter W, West Wellton, Colfred, Colfred W.

East Yard and Fortuna Signals and Control Point Boxes were switched out, this requires a site visit to each control point to get their new address.

Casa Grande picks up:
Bon, Arizona Grain, and Casa Grande on the MCP side.
Bon, Arizona Grain, Casa Grande, Hwy 87, Picacho Wye, West Picacho, East Picacho, and La Palma on the BCP side.

The rest are on the other PC I have no access too.

My PC got taken out by the last storm :(

No worries on the layout, it is all good.
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: j3rsdm5 on September 01, 2018, 03:12:35 pm
All stations in the Picacho Area are now responding! Thanks Jon!
Title: Re: ATCS MCPs not responding
Post by: Jeff on September 01, 2018, 03:17:44 pm
Agreed, thanks Jon for getting up on the hill.